4 River Road

preSchool & Pre-Kindergarten

calendar

Monday, August 26 - Friday, August 30 Teacher Workweek: Classroom prep & professional development.

School closed for children.

Wednesday, August 28 Room A/Young 3's: Playground "Meet and Greet" 11:30 - 12:00 pm

Thursday, August 29 School closed for children: Family Home Visits

Friday, August 30 School closed for children: Family Home Visits

Monday, September 2 School closed: Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday, September 3 Rooms B, C, D Playground "Meet & Greet" (B: 9:00 - 9:30, C: 10:00 - 10:30, D: 11:00 - 11:30)

Tuesday, September 3 Room A Classroom Introduction Begins (young 3s; see schedule)

Wednesday, September 4 Rooms B, C, D (older 3s and 4s) Children attend in 1/2 groups 8:30 - 10:00 / 10:30 - 12:00

Thursday, September 5 Rooms B, C, D Children attend 8:40 - 12:00 Noon (whole group)

Friday, September 6 Rooms B, C, D Children attend 8:40 - 1:00 with lunch (whole group)

Monday, September 9 Rooms B, C, D Regular whole group schedule begins: 8:40 - 3:00

Friday, September 13 Introduction to Extended Day Program (EDP) - Rooms B, C, D, 3:00 - 4:00 (for enrolled children)

Monday, September 16 (*) Early Room begins; for the first week children go to home classrooms

Monday, September 16 Parent Association Welcome Social 7:00 - 9:00 pm

Tuesday, September 17 Extended Day Program (EDP) begins for Rooms B, C, D, 3:00 - 6:00 pm. Room A children as ready.

Monday, September 23 (*) Early Room continues; one classroom opens at 8:00 am, rotates daily

Monday, September 30 and Tuesday October 1 School Closed: Rosh Hashanah

Wednesday, October 9 School closed: Yom Kippur

Monday, October 14 School closed: Columbus Day Holiday

Friday, October 18 Parents Association Coffee Hour, 8:30 - 9:30 am

Tuesday, November 5 School closed for children: Election Day;
Parent/Teacher Classroom Curriculum Night, 6:30 - 8:30 pm

Monday, November 11 School closed for children: Veterans Day, Parent/Teacher Conferences

Monday, November 18 Rooms B, C, D Closed for DOE Professional Development, Room A open

Wednesday, November 27 Thanksgiving Holiday Early Closing, 12:00 pm dismissal; No Extended Day

Thursday, November 28 and Friday, November 29 School closed: Thanksgiving Holiday

Friday, December 6 Family Holiday Potluck Dinner 5:30 - 7:30 pm; Extended Day Program ends at 5:30 pm

Friday, December 20 Winter Vacation Early Closing, 12:00 pm dismissal; No Extended Day

Monday, December 23 - Wednesday, January 1 School closed: Winter Vacation

Thursday, January 2 School Re-opens for Children at 9:00 am (no Early Room) Teachers begin at 8:00 am

Monday, January 20 School closed: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday

Friday, January 31 School closed for children: Teachers Professional Development Day

Tuesday, February 4 Lunar New Year Celebration (school open)

Saturday, February 8 Pancake Breakfast

Monday, February 17 - Friday, February 21 School closed: Midwinter Vacation/Presidents Days

Wednesday, March 11 School closed for children:
Room A Professional Development; Rooms B, C, D DOE Professional Development

Thursday, April 9 - Friday, April 17 School closed: Spring Vacation for Good Friday/Passover/Easter

Friday, May 15 School closed for children: Parent/Teacher Conferences

Monday, May 25 School closed: Memorial Day Holiday

Thursday, June 4 School closed for Rooms B, C, D - DOE Professional Development; Room A Open

Tuesday, June 23 All River Road Classes: Moving On Day

Wednesday, June 24 Closing Day Picnic, 12:00 pm dismissal; family classroom party 12:00 - 1:00 pm

Thursday, June 25 and Friday, June 26 School closed for children:
Year End Teacher Work/Summer Program Prep. All School Professional Development Day

Monday, June 29 - Friday, July 3 School closed: Summer Vacation

Monday, July 6 -Thursday, July 30 Summer Play Days Program begins at 4 River Road, 9:00 am - 4:00 pm

NOTES: Monthly Parents Association Coffee Hours are generally held every 3rd Friday from 8:30 - 9:30 am

A Spring Gala Fundraiser date will be announced in the fall.

(*) Early Room: $5.00 per day for UPK children; included in tuition-based enrollment contracts

  • RIDN on Facebook